Connect with us

List of Chief Justices of Nigeria


List of Chief Justices of Nigeria

What names are on the list of Chief Justices of Nigeria? Who are the 8 chief justices? Who are the current Justices of the Supreme Court of Nigeria? How many Supreme Court Justices are there in Nigeria? What are the 9 Supreme Court Justices? Who is the first female Chief Justice of Nigeria? Who is the current Chief Justice? How many courts are in Nigeria? How many chief judges are there in Supreme Court? What are the 4 types of courts?

See Also: How To Play Lotto Nigeria & Win Daily

The Chief Justice of Nigeria (CJN) is the head of the judicial arm of the federal republic of Nigeria and presides over the country’s Supreme Court and the National Judicial Council (NJC).

The CJN is nominated by the President upon recommendation by the NJC and is subject to confirmation by the Senate. The CJN can only be removed from office by death or on the attainment of age 70 whichever occurs first or by impeachment by the Senate, which requires a super majority of the members of the Senate.

Aloma Mariam Mukhtar is the first female chief justice of Nigeria while Sir Edwin Speed (colonial) and Sir Adetokunbo Ademola (Indigenous) are the first chief justice of Nigeria.

Also, Walter Onnoghen is the first chief justice of Nigeria to be unseated.

Hon Mr Justice Ibrahim Tanko Muhammad CFR GCON is the current chief of justice of Nigeria.

Here is a list of the current and previous honourable Chief Justices who have held this respected position in the Supreme Court of Nigeria:

List Of Former Chief Justices Of Nigeria

1          Sir Edwin Speed: (1914–1918)

2          Sir Ralph Combe: (1918–1929)

3          Donald Kingdon: (1929–1946)

4          Sir John Verity: (1946–1955)

5          Stafford Foster Sutton (Past CJF): (1956 – 1958)

6          Adetokunbo Ademola KBE, GCON: (1958 – 1972)

7          Taslim Olawale Elias CFR, GCON: (1972 – 1975)

8          Darnley Arthur Alexander CBE,KCMG,CFR,GCON: (1975 – 1979)

9          Atanda Fatai-Williams CON,GCON: (1979 – 1983)

10        George Sodeinde Sowemimo CON,GCON: (1983 – 1985)

11        Ayo Gabriel lrikefe OFR,CON,GCON: (1985 – 1987)

12        Muhammed Bello CON,GCON: (1987 – 1995)

13        Muhammadu Lawal Uwais CON,GCON: (1995 – 2006)

14        Salisu Modibo Alfa Belgore CON,GCON: (2006 – 2007)

15        Idris Legbo Kutigi CON, GCON: (2007 – 2009)

16        Aloysius Iyorgyer Katsina-Alu CON, GCON: (2010 – 2011)

17        Dahiru Musdapher CON, CFR, FNIALS, GCON: (2011 – 2012)

18        Aloma Mariam Mukhtar CON, CFR, FNIALS, GCON: (2012 – 2014)

19        Mahmud Mohammed GCON: (2014 – 2016)

20        W. S. Nkanu Onnoghen: (2005 – 2019)

Current Chief Justice Of Nigeria 2022

Ibrahim Tanko Muhammad CFR GCON

Those are all the names on the list of Chief Justices of Nigeria. Note also that the annual basic salary of the chief justice of Nigeria – by virtue of the ‘’Certain Political, Public and Judicial Office Holders (Salaries and Allowances, etc.) (Amendment) Act, 2008’’ is ₦3,353,972.50 (or ₦279,497.71 monthly).

Continue Reading