Home » Politics » Ndume’s Ambition for Senate Leader Position Raises Questions About Tambuwal’s Future in PDP

Ndume’s Ambition for Senate Leader Position Raises Questions About Tambuwal’s Future in PDP

by NaijNaira
0 comment
Ndume's Ambition for Senate Leader Position Raises Questions About Tambuwal's Future in PDP

Here Is The Easy Money-Making Trick Everyone Is Talking About! Learn More Here!

There are indications that the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) may withdraw its support for former Sokoto State Governor, Aminu Tambuwal, and instead back a senator from Plateau as the minority leader of the Senate.

This move comes as opposition mounts against Tambuwal’s ambition, with some senators arguing that it is unfair to give the position to the North-West region, which already holds two principal offices in the National Assembly.

The PDP senator from Plateau State, Istifanus Gyang, is the only senator from the state in the PDP, while the other two senators are from the All Progressives Congress (APC).

Some senators believe that the party should not concentrate its leadership positions in the North-West alone, as there are six geopolitical zones in the country.

They also point out that Tambuwal was a former Speaker of the House of Representatives and a governor for eight years, and that he worked against the PDP in 2015, making the party an opposition party.

They argue that Tambuwal should focus on working for the party in his state rather than seeking a federal position.

Meanwhile, Senator Ali Ndume from Borno South has joined the race for the Senate Leader position, and other APC lawmakers vying for the position include Senators Opeyemi Bamidele from Ekiti Central and Fatai Buhari from Oyo North.

The ruling APC is considering zoning the Senate Majority Leader position to the South-West.

According to the relevant laws and rules, aside from the two presiding officer positions, eight principal positions are to be filled by lawmakers from both the governing and minority parties.

The governing party will fill the positions of Senate Leader, Deputy Senate Leader, Chief Whip, and Deputy Whip, while the opposition parties will produce the Minority Leader, Minority Whip, Deputy Minority Leader, and Deputy Minority Whip.

This article was updated 3 months ago


Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Copyright © – 2024 CIV DigiTech Media Ltd. All Rights Reserved