Home » Sports » Aleksander Ceferin Re-Elected as UEFA President for Third Term

Aleksander Ceferin Re-Elected as UEFA President for Third Term

by NaijNaira
0 comment
Aleksander Ceferin Re-Elected as UEFA President for Third Term

Here Is The Easy Money-Making Trick Everyone Is Talking About! Learn More Here!

Aleksander Ceferin, a Slovenian lawyer, has been re-elected as the president of UEFA for a third term of four years.

He was elected unopposed at a meeting of European Football’s governing body in Lisbon.

Ceferin, who was first elected in 2016, will remain in the role until 2027.

He recently opposed proposals by FIFA president Gianni Infantino to hold the World Cup every two years and fought off the breakaway European Super League project during his second term.

He will now oversee the introduction of a new format for the Champions League starting next year.

However, the Super League is not dead yet, with Real Madrid, Barcelona and Juventus continuing to pursue the project.

A lawsuit has been launched against UEFA and FIFA at the European Court of Justice, accusing the governing bodies of abusing their power by threatening to expel clubs and players interested in joining a breakaway league.

A final ruling is expected in the coming weeks.

The new Champions League format will be introduced from the 2024/25 season, with the number of clubs involved in the group stage increasing from 32 to 36 teams all playing in one pool using what is known as the Swiss system.

The new format will see all participants play eight matches against eight different opponents.

Clubs will be forced to limit spending on player and staff wages, transfers and agents fees to 70 percent of total revenues by 2025/26.

Ceferin has also raised the possibility of relaxing rules that currently prevent clubs with the same owners facing each other in European competitions.

This article was updated 4 weeks ago


Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Copyright © – 2024 CIV DigiTech Media Ltd. All Rights Reserved