Saturday, October 1, 2022
HomeSports1978 AFCON Nigeria Squad Listed in Full

1978 AFCON Nigeria Squad Listed in Full


Ghana hosted and won the 1978 African Cup of Nations (the eleventh edition) after defeating Uganda 2−0 in the final. The 1978 AFCON title made it the third for the Black Stars.

  • Champions: Ghana
  • Runners-up:  Uganda
  • Third place:  Nigeria
  • Fourth place:  Tunisia

Meanwhile, note that Tunisia walked off in the 42nd minute of the third place match with the score tied at 1–1 to protest the officiating. That was how Nigeria were awarded a 2–0 win, while Tunisia were banned from the next AFCON.

The format of the 1978 AFCON changed from that of 1976.

What happened this time was that the field of eight teams was still split into two groups of four, but the final group stage was eliminated in favour of the knockout semifinals used in competitions prior to 1976.

AFCON 1978 highest goal scorers are Ghana’s Opoku Afriyie, Nigeria’s Segun Odegbami and Uganda’s Phillip Omondi, all of them scored three goals each. The Best player Award went to Ghana’s Abdul Razak.

If you’d like to see all African Nations Cup Winners from inception, they are all in that article.

Below are the teams that took part in the 1978 AFCON between the 5th to 16th of March.

Teams in the 1978 AFCON?

1. Congo

2. Ghana

3. Morocco

4. Nigeria

5. Tunisia

6. Uganda

7. Upper Volta

8. Zambia

Nigeria 1978 AFCON Results

Nigeria vs Upper Volta (Groupstage)4-2 win
Nigeria vs Ghana (Groupstage)1-1 draw
Zambia vs Nigeria (Groupstage)0-0 draw
Uganda vs Nigeria (Semi-final)2-1 loss
Nigeria vs Tunisia (Third place match)2-0 win after Tunisia abandoned the match

AFCON 1978 Nigeria Team List


Emmanuel OkalaEnugu Rangers (Nigeria)
Rufus EjeleBendel Insurance of Benin (Nigeria)


Christian ChukwuEnugu Rangers (Nigeria)
Godwin OdiyeNigeria National Bank of Lagos (Nigeria)
Annas AhmedRaccah Rovers of Kano (Nigeria)
Patrick EkejiP&T Vasco Da Gama of Enugu (Nigeria)
Nnamdi AnyafoEnugu Rangers (Nigeria)
Kadiri IkhanaBendel Insurance Benin (Nigeria)
Ignatius IlechukwuEnugu Rangers (Nigeria)
Tunde BamideleTaraba United of Yola (Nigeria)


Muda LawalShooting Stars of Ibadan (Nigeria)
Aloysius AtuegbuEnugu Rangers (Nigeria)
Felix OwolabiRaccah Rovers of Kano (Nigeria)
Segun AdelekeNEPA Lagos (Nigeria)
Jide DinaMighty Jets of Jos (Nigeria)


Segun OdegbamiShooting Stars of Ibadan (Nigeria)
Martins EyoJulius Berger of Lagos (Nigeria)
Godwin IwelumoACB Lagos (Nigeria)
Adokiye AmiesimakaACB Lagos and UNILAG (Nigeria)
Baba Otu MohammedRaccah Rovers of Kano (Nigeria)
Godwin EfejukwuLagos Police Machine (Nigeria)
Christopher OguBendel Insurance of Benin (Nigeria)
Eugene OhuabuwaSpartans of Owerri (Nigeria)

Tihomir Jelisavčić is the coach that managed the Nigeria national team at the 1978 AFCON in Ghana.

Latest articles

Before You Go