Home » Sports » AFCON 1980 Nigeria squad Listed Fully With Fixtures & Results

AFCON 1980 Nigeria squad Listed Fully With Fixtures & Results

by NaijNaira
0 comment
afcon 1980 nigeria squad

Here Is The Easy Money-Making Trick Everyone Is Talking About! Learn More Here!

The 1980 African Cup of Nations was hosted by Nigeria and also won by Nigeria after beating Algeria in the final 3−0 at the Surulere National Stadium in Lagos.

Undoubtedly, the Green Eagles that won the 1980 AFCON is one of the best teams in the history of Nigerian football.

Morocco’s Khaled Labied and Nigeria’s Segun Odegbami were the top scorers in that competition with 3 goals each. Whereas Nigeria’s captain, Christian Chukwu won the Best player award.

Nigeria topped Group A by walloping Tanzania 3-1 with goals from Muda Lawal, Ifeanyi Onyedika and ‘Mathematical’ Odegbami.

The Green Eagles were held to a goalless draw by Cote d’Ivoire in their second match but defeated the Pharaohs of Egypt 1-0 courtesy of a goal by defender Okey Isima.

Winger Felix Owolabi AKA ‘Owoblow’ scored the lone goal against Morocco in the semi-finals that secured the Green Eagles a spot in the final, which Nigeria eventually won.

It is pertinent to mention that this feat was made possible under Brazilian coach Otto Gloria who was in charge of the Green Eagles at the time.

See the breakdown of the winner and runners-up at the AFCON 1980.


That was Nigeria’s first title before the Tunisia 1994 glory and South Africa 2013 win.

Below are all the teams that took part in the 1980 AFCON between 8−22 of March.

Teams in the 1980 AFCON?

1. Algeria

2. Ivory Coast

3. Egypt

4. Ghana

5. Guinea

6. Morocco

7. Nigeria

8. Tanzania

Nigeria 1980 AFCON Results

Match Result
Nigeria vs Tanzania (Groupstage)3-1 win
Nigeria vs Ivory Coast (Groupstage) 0-0 draw
Nigeria vs Egypt (Groupstage)1-0 win
Nigeria vs Morocco (Semi-final)1-0 win
Nigeria vs Algeria (Final)3-0 win

Green Eagles class of 1980


Best OgedegbeShooting Stars (Nigeria)
Moses EffiongShooting Stars F.C. (Nigeria)
Emmanuel OkalaEnugu Rangers (Nigeria)


David AdieleBendel Insurance (Nigeria)
Okey IsimaStandard of Jos (Nigeria)
Christian ChukwuEnugu Rangers (Nigeria)
Tunde BamideleTaraba United (Nigeria)
Sylvanus OkpalaEnugu Rangers (Nigeria)
John OrlandoShooting Stars F.C. (Nigeria)
Kadiri IkhanaBendel Insurance (Nigeria)


Muda LawalShooting Stars (Nigeria)
Segun OdegbamiShooting Stars (Nigeria)
Felix OwolabiShooting Stars (Nigeria)
Godwin OdiyeSan Francisco Dons (United States)
Ifeanyi OnyedikaEnugu Rangers (Nigeria)
Henry NwosuNew Nigeria Bank (Nigeria)


Aloysius AtuegbuEnugu Rangers (Nigeria)
Adokiye AmiesimakaEnugu Rangers (Nigeria)
Martin EyoJulius Berger FC (Nigeria)
Shefiu MohamedRacca Rovers (Nigeria)
Charles Bassey
Franck Onwuachi

Coach: Otto Glória

The Green Eagles (Super Eagles) that won Nigeria’s first AFCON


Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Copyright © – 2024 CIV DigiTech Media Ltd. All Rights Reserved