Connect with us

Nigeria Squad at 1982 AFCON Fully Listed


Nigeria Squad 1982 AFCON

Though Nigeria were the holders, Ghana emerged champions of the African Cup of Nations in the 1982 tournament that was hosted by Lybia.

This 13th edition of the competition made it the fourth AFCON title win for the Black Stars after beating the host nation on penalty kicks 7−6 following a 1−1 draw at full time.

  • Champions: Ghana
  • Runners-up:  Libya
  • Third place:  Zambia
  • Fourth place:  Algeria

AFCON’s 1982 top scorer was Ghana’s George Alhassan with 4 goals, while the Best player Award went to Libya’s Fawzi Al-Issawi.

See the eight teams that took part in the 1982 AFCON between the 5th to 19th of March.

Teams in the 1982 AFCON?

1. Algeria

2. Cameroon

3. Ethiopia

4. Ghana

5. Libya

6. Nigeria

7. Tunisia

8. Zambia

Nigeria 1982 AFCON Results

Nigeria vs Ethiopia (Groupstage)3-0 win
Algeria vs Nigeria (Groupstage)2-1 win
Zambia vs Nigeria (Groupstage)3-0 loss

1982 AFCON Nigeria Squad


Peter Fregene
Best Ogedegbe


Ademola Adeshina
Tunde Bamidele
Leotis Boateng
Stephen Keshi
Charles Yantchio


Mudashiru Lawal
Henry Nwosu
Okey Isima
Sylvanus OkpalaEnugu Rangers ()
Felix Owolabi
Anthony Orji


Emmanuel Osigwe
Richard OwubokiriACB Lagos (Nigeria)
Adegoke Adelabu
Fatai Yekini
Continue Reading
Join The Conversation

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.