Home » Sports » CAF Champions League Winners Listed from 1965

CAF Champions League Winners Listed from 1965

by NaijNaira
0 comment
CAF Champions League Winners

Here Is The Easy Money-Making Trick Everyone Is Talking About! Learn More Here!

Not until the 1997 season, the CAF Champions League was known as the African Cup of Champions Clubs.

The winner of the most prestigious club competition in African football used to be decided through a round-robin group stage to qualify for a double-legged knockout stage, and then a single-leg final.

In 2020 and 2021, the finals were played behind closed doors due to the COVID-19 pandemic in Africa.

Which team has won the most CAF Champions League?

Clubs in Egypt so far have the highest number of victories (16 titles), followed by Morocco with 7.

Morocco, Egypt, Tunisia and Algeria have the largest number of winning teams, with three clubs from each having won the title.

The CAF Champions League has been won by 26 clubs, 12 of which have won it more than once.

Al Ahly is the most successful club in the competition’s history, winning the tournament a record 10 times.

Wydad Casablanca are the current CAF Champions League winner after beating Al Ahly 2-0 in the 2022 final.

Here are the 26 African Players That Have Won the UEFA Champions League. Also, see the top ten Richest African Footballers.

Let’s now go back to see CAF Champions League winners of all time.

List Of CAF Champions League Winners

WinnerNationalityScore LineYear
Wydad ACMorocco2–02022
Al Ahly SCEgypt3–02021
Al Ahly SCEgypt2–12020
Espérance de TunisTunisia1–1
Espérance de Tunis were declared champions after second leg was abandoned
Espérance de TunisTunisia4–3 on aggregate2018
Wydad ACMorocco2–1 on aggregate2017
Mamelodi SundownsSouth Africa2–1 on aggregate2016
TP MazembeCongo DR 4–1 on aggregate2015
ES SétifAlgeriaES Sétif won on away goals (3–3 on aggregate)2014
Al Ahly SCEgypt 3–1 on aggregate2013
Al Ahly SCEgypt3–2 on aggregate2012
Espérance de TunisTunisia1–0 on aggregate2011
TP MazembeCongo DR6–1 on aggregate2010
TP MazembeCongo DRTP Mazembe won on away goals (2–2 on aggregate)2009
Al Ahly SCEgypt4–2 on aggregate2008
Étoile du SahelTunisia3–1 on aggregate2007
Al Ahly SCEgypt2–1 on aggregate2006
Al Ahly SCEgypt3–0 on aggregate2005
Enyimba AbaNigeria5–3 on penalties (3–3 on aggregate)2004
Enyimba AbaNigeria2–1 on aggregate2003
ZamalekEgypt1–0 on aggregate2002
Al Ahly SCEgypt4–1 on aggregate2001
Hearts of OakGhana5–2 on aggregate2000
Raja CasablancaMorocco4–3 on penalties (0–0 on aggregate)1999
ASEC MimosasIvory Coast 4–2 on aggregate1998
Raja CasablancaMorocco5–4 on penalties (1–1 on aggregate)1997
ZamalekEgypt5–4 on penalties (3–3 on aggregate)1996
Orlando PiratesSouth Africa 3–2 on aggregate1995
Espérance de TunisTunisia3–1 on aggregate1994
ZamalekEgypt7–6 on penalties (0–0 on aggregate)1993
Wydad ACMorocco2–0 on aggregate1992
Club AfricainTunisia7–3 on aggregate1991
JS KabylieAlgeria5–3 on penalties (1–1 on aggregate)1990
Raja CasablancaMorocco4–2 on penalties (1–1 on aggregate)1989
ES SétifAlgeria4–1 on aggregate1988
Al Ahly SCEgypt2–0 on aggregate1987
ZamalekEgypt4–2 on penalties (2–2 on aggregate)1986
FAR de RabatMorocco 6–3 on aggregate1985
ZamalekEgypt3–0 on aggregate1984
Asante KotokoGhana1–0 on aggregate1983
Al Ahly SCEgypt4–1 on aggregate1982
JE Tizi-OuzouCameroon5–0 on aggregate1981
Canon YaoundéCameroon5–2 on aggregate1980
Union Sportive DoualaCameroon5–3 on penalties (1–1 on aggregate)1979
Canon YaoundéCameroon2–0 on aggregate1978
Hafia FCGuinea4–2 on aggregate1977
MC AlgerAlgeria 3–1 on penalties (3–3 on aggregate)1976
Hafia FCGuinea3–1 on aggregate1975
CARACongo6–3 on aggregate1974
AS Vita ClubCongo DR5–4 on aggregate1973
Hafia FCGuinea7–4 on aggregate1972
Canon YaoundéCameroonwon 1–0 on the 3rd match1971
Asante KotokoGhana3–2 on aggregate1970
IsmailyEgypt5–3 on aggregate1969
TP MazembeCongo DR6–4 on aggregate1968
TP MazembeCongo DRAsante Kotoko failed to appear for the 3rd match1967
Stade AbidjanIvory Coast5–4 on aggregate1966
Oryx DoualaCameroon2–11965

This article was updated 5 months ago


Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Copyright © – 2024 CIV DigiTech Media Ltd. All Rights Reserved