Thursday, September 29, 2022
HomeSportsAll Europa League Finals, Winners & Results Since inception

All Europa League Finals, Winners & Results Since inception

Published on

The Europa League was started in 1971 by UEFA but at that time it was known as the UEFA Cup.

Shakhtar Donetsk were the last champions before the UEFA Cup was renamed to UEFA Europa League after beating Werder Bremen 2–1 in extra time in 2009 final.

After the UEFA Champions League, the Europa League is the second most important international competition for European clubs.

The current Europa League champions are Eintracht Frankfurt, defeating Rangers 5–4 on penalties in 2022 final.

Sevilla is the club with the most victories, having won the competition six times since its inception.

Real Madrid, who are winners in 1985 and 1986, and Sevilla, who are winners in 2006 and 2007, and 2014, 2015 and 2016, are the only teams to have retained their title.

The Europa League has been won thirteen times by teams from Spain, more than any other country.

Let’s now see the complete list of Europa League winners since it started.

Europa League Winners Since Inception


1971–72Tottenham HotspurWolverhampton Wanderers3-2 on aggregate
1972–73LiverpoolBorussia Mönchengladbach3-2 on aggregate
1973–74FeyenoordTottenham Hotspur4-2 on aggregate
1974–75Borussia MönchengladbachTwente5-1 on aggregate
1975–76LiverpoolClub Brugge4-3 on aggregate
1976–77JuventusAthletic Bilbao2-2 on aggregate
(away goals)
1977–78PSV EindhovenBastia3-0 on aggregate
1978–79Borussia MönchengladbachRed Star Belgrade2-1 on aggregate
1979–80Eintracht FrankfurtBorussia Mönchengladbach3-3 on aggregate
(away goals)
1980–81Ipswich TownAZ5-4 on aggregate
1981–82IFK GöteborgHamburger SV4-0 on aggregate
1982–83AnderlechtBenfica2-1 on aggregate
1983–84Tottenham HotspurAnderlecht2-2 on aggregate
(4-3 on penalties)
1984–85Real MadridVideoton3-1 on aggregate
1985–86Real MadridFC Köln5-3 on aggregate
1986–87IFK GöteborgDundee United2-1 on aggregate
1987–88Bayer LeverkusenEspanyol3-3 on aggregate
(3-2 on penalties)
1988–89NapoliVfB Stuttgart5-4 on aggregate
1989–90JuventusFiorentina3-1 on aggregate
1990–91Inter MilanRoma2-1 on aggregate
1991–92AjaxTorino2-2 on aggregate
(away goals)
1992–93JuventusBorussia Dortmund6-1 on aggregate
1993–94Inter MilanSalzburg2-0 on aggregate
1994–95ParmaJuventus2-1 on aggregate
1995–96Bayern MunichBordeaux5-1 on aggregate
1996–97Schalke 04Inter Milan1-1 on aggregate
(4-1 on penalties)
1997–98Inter MilanLazio3-0
1999–2000GalatasarayArsenal0-0 AET (4-1 on penalties)
2000–01LiverpoolDeportivo Alavés5-4 (won via golden goal)
2001–02FeyenoordBorussia Dortmund3-2
2002–03PortoCeltic3-2 AET
2004–05CSKA MoscowSporting CP3-1
2006–07SevillaEspanyol2-2 AET (3-1 on penalties)
2007–08Zenit Saint PetersburgRangers2-0
2008–09Shakhtar DonetskWerder Bremen2-1 AET

Europa League

2009–10Atlético MadridFulham2-1 AET
2011–12Atlético MadridAthletic Bilbao3-0
2013–14SevillaBenfica0-0 AET (4-2 on penalties)
2014–15SevillaDnipro Dnipropetrovsk3-2
2016–17Manchester UnitedAjax2-0
2017–18Atlético MadridMarseille3-0
2019–20SevillaInter Milan3-2
2020–21VillarrealManchester United1-1 AET (11-10 on penalties)
2021–22Eintracht FrankfurtRangers1-1 AET (5-4 on penalties)

Latest articles

Before You Go