Home » Sports » AFCON 2023 Official Team of the Tournament Announced

AFCON 2023 Official Team of the Tournament Announced

by Thomaz Oseghale
0 comment
AFCON 2023 Official Team of the Tournament Announced

The Confederation of African Football (CAF) has unveiled the official team of the Africa Cup of Nations (AFCON) 2023 tournament. The team comprises players who showcased exceptional skills and talent throughout the competition. Notably, three Super Eagles players from Nigeria and three Ivorian players made it into the best 11. In goal,

Ronwen Williams of South Africa was chosen as the goalkeeper of the tournament. Williams’ outstanding performances, including five clean sheets and a heroic shootout display against Cape Verde, secured his place in the team.

Despite a strong showing, Stanley Nwabali was unable to secure the goalkeeper position.

The defensive line consists of William Troost-Ekong and Ola Aina from Nigeria, along with Chancel Mbemba from DR Congo and Ghislain Konan from Ivory Coast.

Troost-Ekong and Aina’s contributions throughout the tournament earned them a spot, despite Aina’s performance in the final being below par.

The midfield trio comprises Teboho Mokoena from South Africa, Jean Michael Seri and Franck Kessie from Ivory Coast.

Mokoena, although missing two penalties, displayed his skills alongside the Ivorian duo, who were consistent and influential throughout the tournament.

The attacking lineup includes Yoane Wissa from Brentford, Ademola Lookman from Atalanta, and Emilio Nsue. Nsue, primarily a right-back, showcased his versatility by scoring five goals in four games.

Lookman and Wissa also made significant contributions to their respective teams’ journeys.

Notably absent from the team are Victor Osimhen, the reigning African footballer of the year, and Sebastian Haller, who scored the winning goal in the final. Despite their individual achievements, they did not make the cut for the official team.

This article was updated 2 months ago


Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Copyright © – 2024 CIV DigiTech Media Ltd. All Rights Reserved