Home » Sports » List of UEFA Champions League winning managers

List of UEFA Champions League winning managers

by NaijNaira
0 comment
UEFA Champions League winning managers

Which manager has won the most UEFA Champions League and how many coaches have won the UCL with different clubs?

The only manager to have won the UEFA Champions League four times is Carlo Ancelotti, whereas Bob Paisley and Zinedine Zidane have won the tournament thrice. Meanwhile, Zidane won three consecutive titles with Real Madrid.

Seventeen other coaches have won the UCL title twice while only five managers have won the title with two clubs and that is:

UEFA Champions League winning managers
  1. Ancelotti: Milan in 2003 and 2007 and Real Madrid in 2014 and 2022
  2. Ernst Happel: Feyenoord in 1970 and Hamburger SV in 1983
  3. Ottmar Hitzfeld: with Borussia Dortmund in 1997 and Bayern Munich in 2001
  4. José Mourinho: with Porto in 2004 and Inter Milan in 2010
  5. Jupp Heynckes: with Real Madrid in 1998 and Bayern Munich in 2013

Also, seven people have won the UCL both as a player and as a manager: Miguel Muñoz, Giovanni Trapattoni, Johan Cruyff, Ancelotti, Frank Rijkaard, Pep Guardiola and Zidane.

Let’s now see the list of champions league-winning managers ever!

Champions League Winning managers

YearCountryWinning managerClub
1956 SpainJosé VillalongaReal Madrid
1957 SpainJosé VillalongaReal Madrid
1958 ArgentinaLuis CarnigliaReal Madrid
1959 ArgentinaLuis CarnigliaReal Madrid
1960 SpainMiguel MuñozReal Madrid
1961 HungaryBéla GuttmannBenfica
1962 HungaryBéla GuttmannBenfica
1963 ItalyNereo RoccoMilan
1964 ArgentinaHelenio HerreraInter Milan
1965 ArgentinaHelenio HerreraInter Milan
1966 SpainMiguel MuñozReal Madrid
1967 ScotlandJock SteinCeltic
1968 ScotlandMatt BusbyManchester United
1969 ItalyNereo RoccoMilan
1970 AustriaErnst HappelFeyenoord
1971 NetherlandsRinus MichelsAjax
1972 RomaniaȘtefan KovácsAjax
1973 RomaniaȘtefan KovácsAjax
1974 West GermanyUdo LattekBayern Munich
1975 West GermanyDettmar CramerBayern Munich
1976 West GermanyDettmar CramerBayern Munich
1977 EnglandBob PaisleyLiverpool
1978 EnglandBob PaisleyLiverpool
1979 EnglandBrian CloughNottingham Forest
1980 EnglandBrian CloughNottingham Forest
1981 EnglandBob PaisleyLiverpool
1982 EnglandTony BartonAston Villa
1983 AustriaErnst HappelHamburger SV
1984 EnglandJoe FaganLiverpool
1985 ItalyGiovanni TrapattoniJuventus
1986 RomaniaEmerich JeneiSteaua București
1987 PortugalArtur JorgePorto
1988 NetherlandsGuus HiddinkPSV Eindhoven
1989 ItalyArrigo SacchiMilan
1990 ItalyArrigo SacchiMilan
1991 YugoslaviaLjupko PetrovićRed Star Belgrade
1992 NetherlandsJohan CruyffBarcelona
1993 BelgiumRaymond GoethalsMarseille
1994 ItalyFabio CapelloMilan
1995 NetherlandsLouis van GaalAjax
1996 ItalyMarcello LippiJuventus
1997 GermanyOttmar HitzfeldBorussia Dortmund
1998 GermanyJupp HeynckesReal Madrid
1999 ScotlandAlex FergusonManchester United
2000 SpainVicente del BosqueReal Madrid
2001 GermanyOttmar HitzfeldBayern Munich
2002 SpainVicente del BosqueReal Madrid
2003 ItalyCarlo AncelottiMilan
2004 PortugalJosé MourinhoPorto
2005 SpainRafael BenítezLiverpool
2006 NetherlandsFrank RijkaardBarcelona
2007 ItalyCarlo AncelottiMilan
2008 ScotlandAlex FergusonManchester United
2009 SpainPep GuardiolaBarcelona
2010 PortugalJosé MourinhoInter Milan
2011 SpainPep GuardiolaBarcelona
2012 ItalyRoberto Di MatteoChelsea
2013 GermanyJupp HeynckesBayern Munich
2014 ItalyCarlo AncelottiReal Madrid
2015 SpainLuis EnriqueBarcelona
2016 FranceZinedine ZidaneReal Madrid
2017 FranceZinedine ZidaneReal Madrid
2018 FranceZinedine ZidaneReal Madrid
2019 GermanyJürgen KloppLiverpool
2020 GermanyHansi FlickBayern Munich
2021 GermanyThomas TuchelChelsea
2022 ItalyCarlo AncelottiReal Madrid

This article was updated 1 month ago


Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Copyright © – 2024 CIV DigiTech Media Ltd. All Rights Reserved